Scholarship Winners

The Fundraising Institute Australia (FIA) would like to thank members for their interest in and application for the various scholarships we offer each year.

Congratulations to our past scholarship winners:

Conference National Scholarship

2022 recipients:

  • ACT – Josephine Kennedy AMFIA
  • VIC – Alex Balsillie
  • NSW – Amelia Lawrence MFIA
  • NSW – Sophia Lacey MFIA
  • QLD – James Sturges MFIA
  • SA – Mary Galouzis

2020 recipients:

  • ACT – Julia Lieser
  • NSW – Chloe Sarapas
  • NSW – Trish Manten
  • QLD – Hollie Brown MFIA
  • TAS – Diana Butler

2019 recipients:

  • TAS – Brooke Everingham
  • VIC – Christopher Scerri AMFIA
  • VIC – Connie Honaker MFIA
  • QLD – Ineke Unsworth AMFIA

Find out what our scholarship winners thought about FIA Conference 2019.

2017 recipients:

  • ACT – Nikki Hogan MFIA
  • NT – Emma Host MFIA
  • QLD – Helen Turner AMFIA
  • VIC – Laura Crump AMFIA

2016 recipients:

  • Ana Davy AMFIA
  • Jennifer Saibu MFIA

Joan & Ted Flack Scholarship 

2019 recipient:

  • Deborah Melloy

2017 recipient:

  • Joshua Lawrence MFIA

Certificate in Fundraising Scholarship

2015, Semester 1:

  • NSW – Victoria Bowring MFIA, Fundraising Assistant and Office Manager, Stillbirth Foundation Australia
  • QLD – Kirstie Page AMFIA, Development Manager, Topology
  • VIC – Christopher Turner MFIA, CRM Administrator, Greening Australia
  • TAS – Carla Johnson AMFIA, Fundraising and Events Coordinator, Opita Inc
  • WA – Ashleigh Brown MFIA, Fundraising Coordinator, PlusLife

2014, Semester 2:

  • QLD – Lauren Biehl, Community Relations Officer, Carefight Rescue
  • WA – Kylie Weston, Community Development Manager, Western Australian Museum Foundation

2014, Semester 1:

  • ACT – Rebecca Jamieson, Marketing and Fundraising, CatholicCare Canberra & Goulburn
  • NSW – Aleksandra Marek, Marketing & PR Coordinator, Adventist Development And Relief Agency (Adra) Australia
  • TAS – Rebecca Townsend, Senior Fundraising Officer, Cancer Council Tasmania
  • VIC – Kathryn Barres, Marketing Production Officer, International Needs Australia

Steve L. Mourning Memorial Scholarship recipients:

  • 2013 – Ashlie Hirniak, Development Officer, Telethon Institute for Child Health Research.
  • 2012 – Michelle Jewels-Parsons, Business Development Manager, Sids and Kids South Australia.
  • 2011 – Erryn Stephens, Fundraising Manager, Rainforest Rescue. Read about Erryn’s experience at MDU here.

Perpetual Foundation Philanthropy Scholarships recipients:

  • Institute of Fundraising National Convention 2012
    Amanda Stokes, Fundraising and Marketing Manager, Sydney Dogs & Cats Home. Read about Amanda’s experience at the conference here.
  • FIA Healthcare Philanthropy Scholarship 2011
    Martin Carolan, Fundraising Executive, St Vincent’s Hospital Brisbane and Holy Spirit Northside Private Hospital. Read about Martin’s experience at the conference here.
  • Institute of Fundraising National Convention 2011
    Susanne Williamson, General Manager, Fundraising, The Reach Foundation. Read about Susanne’s experience at the convention here.
  • The Circle of Life: The Power of Collective Giving 2011
    James Boyd, WA Manager, Artsupport Australia. Read about James’ experience here.

Bobbie Dart Skills Scholarships 2011

  • Grace McLean, Fundraising Manager – Hunter and Central Coast, Royal Institute for Deaf and Blind Children.
  • Kathleen Yip, Fundraising & Marketing Coordinator, Parkinson’s WA.

We encourage our members to apply for scholarship opportunities in the future.