Media Release

FIA launches revamped awards program for 2020

Sydney, 17 July 2019 – Fundraising Institute Australia (FIA) today launched a revitalised awards program for 2020, featuring new categories that provide greater opportunities for fundraisers to share their wins, a simplified application process and free entry.

“Most awards programs undergo a refresh to stay relevant to their audience and the fundraising sector is no exception. 2020 sees the FIA Awards for Excellence in Fundraising revamped with new categories to reflect the current fundraising landscape,” said Katherine Raskob, FIA CEO.

As a result of the new categories, fundraisers will have more flexibility and the chance to enter their campaigns in more than one category. There are 12 awards in total with the following seven new campaign awards:

  • Most Innovative Campaign
  • Best Supporter Experience
  • Fundraising Impact Through Creativity
  • Impact on a Shoestring
  • Best Strategic Partnership
  • Impact through Events
  • Supplier Team of the Year (to be nominated by non-profit organisations).

FIA will retain the following awards from previous years:

State Awards

  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Fundraising Team of the Year
  • Young Fundraiser of the Year.

Individual Award

  • Arthur Venn Fundraiser of the Year.

Principal Award

  • Most Outstanding Fundraising Project.

The applications process now includes a new, easy-to-use online platform and a reduction in the number of questions entrants must answer to just four. Entrants are also required to make a quick one-to-three minute smartphone video telling the story behind their campaign and why they should win.

“Entering an awards program shouldn’t be a stressful exercise, so we have listened to the feedback from our members. The process is now simpler and more streamlined. It will also be more engaging with the addition of video entries, which we will use on our social channels and at the awards night,” said Ms Raskob.

Free entry

Thanks to the generosity of FIA Awards sponsors, Precision Fundraising and MonDial Telephone Fundraising, members can enter as many categories as they want for free. The closing date for entries is Friday, 6 September 2019.

“The FIA Awards acknowledge the work of individuals, their campaigns and volunteers who are leading the way in helping their communities. I strongly encourage all fundraisers to enter and showcase the sector’s depth and diversity of talent, creativity and results,” said Ms Raskob.

Finalists will be announced in all states and territories in December 2019. They will progress to the Fundraisers’ Gala Awards Dinner where the winners will be announced. The dinner takes place Thursday, 27 February at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre.

For more information and to enter, visit

About the FIA Awards for Excellence in Fundraising

Now in their 20th year, the FIA Awards for Excellence in Fundraising is the sector’s most extensive awards program and highlights the valuable contributions fundraisers make to the broader community. Since their inception, the awards have provided a platform for Australian fundraisers to tell their organisation’s story, reward fundraising individuals, teams and volunteers, and showcase their most creative and effective campaigns.

About Fundraising Institute Australia (FIA)

With approximately 1,400 members, Fundraising Institute Australia is the largest representative body for the $9.9 billion charitable fundraising sector. FIA members include charities operating domestically and internationally as well as the organisations and professionals that provide services to them. FIA advocates for the interests of the sector, administers a self-regulatory Code, educates fundraising practitioners, promotes research, and creates forums for the exchange of knowledge and ideas.

For more information:

Kim Carter


0407 771 698